Calculator · Code reference

Egress width calculator

Required exit width is occupant load times a capacity factor that depends on the component type and whether the building is sprinklered, checked against a minimum width floor. This tool runs both calculations and shows which one governs.

This calculator computes required egress width for a door, corridor, or stairway from the occupant load served and the sprinkler status, using the capacity factors in IBC Section 1005 (2021 and 2024 International Building Code). It is a reference estimate, not a code determination: confirm the adopted code edition, occupancy-specific rules, and any local amendments with your local building department.

Before you use this: what this tool is and is not

This is a reference and estimating tool, not a code determination. It applies the capacity factors and minimum-width figures in IBC Section 1005 to the numbers you enter. It does not know your project’s occupancy classification or any local amendment, and it excludes Group H and I-2 occupancies entirely (see below). Confirm the applicable rules with your Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) before you rely on the result.

This page uses IBC Section 1005 as it appears in the 2021 and 2024 International Building Code. Compute stairways per story — not cumulatively down the building — and use the separate "other components" factor for doors, corridors, and ramps.

Calculate required egress width

Egress width calculator

Enter the occupant load served by this component (per story, for a stairway) and its sprinkler status.

Component type
Is the building sprinklered?

This tool does not cover Group H or I-2 occupancies, which have their own separate egress-width rules not included here.

The capacity factors and minimums this tool uses

Per IBC’s means-of-egress sizing provisions under Section 1005 (accessed 2026-09-17):

Egress width capacity factors used by this calculatorSwipe or scroll sideways to read all columns.
ComponentNon-sprinkleredSprinklered (NFPA 13/13R + emergency voice/alarm, excludes Group H and I-2)
Stairways0.3 in per occupant0.2 in per occupant
Other components (doors, corridors, ramps)0.2 in per occupant0.15 in per occupant

Minimum widths: doors need at least 32 in of clear opening. Corridors and stairways are commonly cited as needing at least 44 in, with 36 in permitted where the component serves fewer than 50 occupants — this 36/44 in figure needs one more primary-source check, so confirm it for your specific project. Compute a stairway’s required width separately for each story it serves; do not add occupant loads cumulatively down the building. Doors and corridors always use the "other components" factor, never the stairway factor.

Group H and I-2 occupancies are excluded. They have their own separate egress-width rules, including their own treatment of sprinkler protection, which this tool does not state a figure for and does not compute.

Where Groundbook fits

Groundbook’s document review can compare the corridor, door, and stairway widths shown on your drawings against the code sources you upload for the review, flagging a dimension that appears inconsistent with the requirement it needs to satisfy — the same document-to-code comparison used in Groundbook’s building code compliance review. It does not calculate required egress width for you the way this tool does; use this calculator first, then have Groundbook check the drawn widths against it.

Questions, answered

FAQs

What is the minimum egress door width?

32 in of clear opening, per IBC Section 1005. This is a floor width; the capacity-based calculation (occupant load times the per-occupant factor) can require more.

How do I calculate required corridor width?

Multiply the occupant load the corridor serves by the "other components" capacity factor — 0.2 in per occupant non-sprinklered, or 0.15 in per occupant sprinklered — then compare that to the applicable minimum width floor, and use whichever is larger.

Does sprinklering a building reduce required exit width?

Yes, for most occupancies: the capacity factor drops from 0.3 to 0.2 in per occupant for stairways, and from 0.2 to 0.15 in per occupant for other components, when the building has NFPA 13 or 13R sprinklers with emergency voice/alarm. This reduction is excluded for Group H and I-2 occupancies.

Is required exit width calculated per floor or for the whole building?

Per story for stairways. Calculate the required width for the occupant load a stairway serves on each individual story, rather than adding up occupant loads cumulatively down the building.

Do Group H or I-2 occupancies use the same exit-width factors?

No. Group H (high-hazard) and I-2 (institutional, such as hospitals and nursing homes) occupancies have their own separate egress-width rules that this calculator does not state a figure for or compute — confirm those requirements directly with your local building department.

Bring your next set into focus

Set up a review or talk through your project with our team.